Deaf and Hard of Hearing

New Classical Academy at Vivian is the home of Jeffco’s D/HH Total Communication (TC) Program providing services to students with hearing loss in preschool-5th grade. Our DHH team includes Teachers of the Deaf, Educational Audiologists, Speech Language Pathologists, and a Mental Health Provider, as well as educational sign language interpreters for students whose receptive communication mode is sign language, and paraeducators.

 

The school also houses Jeffco’s D/HH preschool program and D/HH Plus (hearing loss plus additional disabilities) program. NCA at Vivian’s D/HH+ program uses academic and life skills to provide intensive language instruction for K-5 students, who usually, though not always, have a hearing loss as well as other additional factors, such as intellectual disability, blindness, cerebral palsy, Down’s Syndrome, etc., using a Total Communication approach in a center-based classroom with mainstream opportunities.

 

In addition to D/HH classrooms, inclusion into general education classroom opportunities are available based on student performance and progress. Schedules are tailored to appropriately meet student’s communication, academic, and social needs to best define their Least Restrictive Environment (LRE). Teachers of the Deaf collaborate with general educators to ensure that a student with hearing loss will have their communication needs met.

 

NCA at Vivian Teachers of the Deaf (TOD) serve students with communication modes that fit each student’s diverse and unique needs. Due to these individual communication needs, TODs use any means of communication necessary to provide access to lessons and concepts, including sign language, voice, simultaneous communication, fingerspelling, lip-reading, visual phonics, amplification, writing, gesture, acting, drawing, pictures, etc. Use of primary-mode communication to provide access to lessons and concepts taught is often bolstered by pre and post teaching of information as well as reviewing and understanding of less familiar materials. 


 Teachers of the Deaf

Nicki Kennedy     Ashley Muniz
  Erin Watzel
 

DHH Preschool

Total Communication

 

 DHH Preschool

Auditory/Oral

 

DHH Elementary

 
Nicki Kennedy
   Ashley Muniz   Erin Watzel
 
 Nichole.Kennedy@jeffco.k12.co.us  Ashley.Muniz@jeffco.k12.co.us
 Erin.Watzel@jeffco.k12.co.us
Voicemail -(303)-982-7663  Voicemail - (303)982-7771  Voicemail - (303)982-7651

 Support Staff

Jessica Ruse      Nancy Netz   Lauren Schoen   Sandy Winthrop
School Psychologist    Speech/Language Pathologist  

OT Assistant

  Audiologist
Jessica Ruse
   Nancy Netz  
   Sandy Wintrhop
 Jessica.Ruse@jeffco.k12.co.us  Nancy.Netz@jeffco.k12.co.us  Lauren.Schoen@jeffco.k12.co.uss  Sandy.Winthrop@jeffco.k12.co.us
Voicemail -(303)982-7976  Voicemail - (303)982-7617  Voicemail - (303)982-XXXX  Voicemail - (303)216-6187

 Chelsea Gonzales    Julianne Batholmew   

 Kim Clark

  Kristin Cromwell
  Amy Singleton
Physial Therapist   DHH Elementary Paraeducator     DHH Elementary Paraeducator  

DHH Elementary Paraeducator

  DHH Preschool Paraeducator 

      Kim Clark    Kristin Cromwell
  Amy Singleton
 Chelsea.Gonzales@jeffco.k12.co.us  Julianne.Batholmew@jeffco.k12.co.us  

Kim.Clark@jeffco.k12.co.us

 Kristin.Cromwell@jeffco.k12.co.us  Amy.Singleton@jeffco.k12.co.us
Voicemail -(303)-982-3206    
 Voicemail - (303)982-7655   

Katie Utech-Blessing    Nico Garza   Tori Mason   Sophia Molitor
     DHH Elementary Paraeductor    Educational Interpreter  

    Educational    Interpreter

     Educational     Interpreter 

  Nico Garza
  Tori Mason
 
 Katie.UtechBlessing@jeffco.k12.co.us  Nico.Garza@jeffco.k12.co.us  Victoria.Mason@jeffco.k12.co.us Sophia.Molitor@jeffco.k12.co.us

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.
New Classical Academyat Vivian
Students embark on an odyssey of illuminating knowledge, visionary teaching, and stellar character.